Coating: Protection of sensitive particles by coating

Precursors for Coating

A coarse powder, granulate or bulk material to be treated is loaded into the plant and fluidised by the inlet air stream. For coating, a liquid (aqueous solution, suspension or emulsion, or a melt, melt emulsion or melt suspension of the coating material) is sprayed into the fluidised bulk material.

Process Technologies for Coating

Coating comprises applying a surface layer to, or the encapsulation of sensitive particles. By coating the surface morphology of the precursor is changed to achieve a particular effect. Macroscopic particles from 150 µm – 200 µm (even up to 5 mm) can be individually and gently coated with the aid of fluidised-bed technology, using either a water-soluble or a hydrophobic system based on

  • aqueous solutions, suspensions or emulsions
  • melts

This achieves the efficient protection of sensitive raw materials from external (e.g. moisture, atmospheric oxidation) or internal influences (e.g. other components of the formulation), or protects the environment from aggressive components by coating them.

Particles may also be coated with the objective that their intended effect occurs to the fullest possible extent at a particular “location” and a defined “time”.

The desired release of a coated active substance can be achieved by a variety of mechanisms which render the coating material intentionally permeable by means of an appropriate reaction, or even cause it to dissolve (“controlled-release” mechanism), e.g. through pH or temperature changes or by adding a specific trigger reagent (e.g. an enzyme).

A “slow-release” mechanism is when a coated substance is continuously released. This occurs by semi-permeable diffusion through coating systems that are insoluble in water.

Both mechanisms can be adjusted and controlled by careful selection of the coating materials.

Results and Advantages of the Coating Process

  • Homogeneous distribution of the coating material on the individual particles
  • Protects particles from external influences
  • Protects particles from internal incompatibilities
  • Protects the environment from particles
  • Specific “controlled-release” mechanisms
  • Controlled semi-permeable diffusion (“slow release”)
  • Improved storage stability
  • Particles suitable for tablet pressing (direct compression)
  • Influence the properties of your product (such as hygroscopicity, smell, flowability, surface morphology, visual appearance, solubility)

Coating: Schutz sensitiver Partikel durch Umhüllung

Ausgangsstoffe Coating

Grobes Pulver, Granulate oder Schüttgüter werden als Vorlage in die Anlage gegeben und im Zuluftstrom gewirbelt. Zur Umhüllung werden auf die wirbelnde Schüttgutvorlage Flüssigkeiten (wässrige Lösungen, Suspensionen oder Emulsionen oder Schmelzen, Schmelzemulsionen oder Schmelzsuspensionen der Coating-Materialien) versprüht.

Prozesstechnologie Coating

Coating umfasst das Beschichten bzw. Verkapseln von empfindlichen Partikeln. Durch das Coating lässt sich die Oberflächenstruktur der Ausgangsstoffe gezielt beeinflussen. Makroskopische Partikel ab 150 µm – 200 µm (bis hin zu 5 mm) Teilchengröße können einzeln mit Hilfe der Wirbelschicht-Technologie wahlweise mit wasserlöslichen oder hydrophoben Systemen auf Basis von

  • wässrigen Lösungen, Suspensionen oder Emulsionen
  • Schmelzen

schonend umhüllt werden. Hierbei erreicht man den effizienten Schutz sensitiver Rohstoffe vor externen (z.B. gegenüber Feuchte, Luftoxidation) oder internen (z.B. gegenüber weiteren Komponenten der gleichen Formulierung) Einflüssen, oder schützt die Umgebung vor aggressiven Komponenten durch deren Coating.

Eine Umhüllung von Partikeln kann auch mit dem Ziel durchgeführt werden, dass diese ihre zu erwartende Wirkung an einem bestimmten „Ort“ und zu einer bestimmten „Zeit“ voll und optimal zur Entfaltung bringen.

Die gewünschte Freisetzung der gecoateten Wirkstoffe kann über verschiedene Mechanismen erreicht werden, indem man gezielt das Coating-Material durch eine entsprechende Reaktion durchlässig macht oder gar zur Auflösung führt („Controlled-Release“ Mechanismen), z.B. durch
pH- und Temperaturänderungen oder durch Zugabe spezifischer ‚Triggerelemente’ (z.B. Enzyme).

Ein „Slow-Release“ Mechanismus liegt dann vor, wenn die umhüllten Wirkstoffe kontinuierlich freigesetzt werden. Dies geschieht durch eine semipermeable Diffusion durch wasserunlösliche Umhüllungssysteme.

Beide Mechanismen lassen sich jeweils durch eine genaue Auswahl der Coating-Materialien einstellen und steuern.

Ergebnisse und Vorteile des Coating-Prozesses

  • Homogene Verteilung des Coating-Materials auf die individuellen Partikel
  • Schutz der Partikel gegen externe Einflüsse
  • Schutz der Partikel gegen interne Inkompatibilitäten
  • Schutz der Umgebung vor den Partikeln
  • Spezifische „Controlled-Release“ Mechanismen
  • Kontrollierte semipermeable Diffusion („Slow-Release“)
  • Verbesserte Lagerstabilität
  • Partikel geeignet zur Tablettierung („Direct Compression“)
  • Einflussnahme auf die Eigenschaften Ihres Produkts (u.a. Hygroskopizität, Geruch, Rieselfähigkeit, Oberflächenstruktur, Optik, Löslichkeit)